Cat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
==>
I've been feeding a stray cat for 2 years now and want to take him to the vet to get "done" and to treat him for all fleas and injuries etc. He also has clumps of fur on his back and now a circle of hair missing on his head which bleeds in parts.
He is a lovley looking big male, very quiet and seems passive. He has gotten a bit used to me feeding him and will sniff my hand and has on occasion let me stroke him but he swats down still in fear. I have wanted to take him to my vets to get checked and Done before now but am worried he wont come back to feed and i feed him at least 4 times a day!
I am very worried about him and today tried to catch him with my own cat basket. I actually got him to eat some chicken ( his fav meat) from the back of the basket and i used a rope to shut the door so he would see me doing it. Unfortunately he pushed at the door and i wasn't quick enough to hold it shut and he got out.
He hasnt been back yet.
I could get a trap from the cat proection but i have got one of those before and he didn't go in it they also seem so harsh!
does anyone have any advice on how to get him causing him as less stress as possible?
I thought of get a sedative drug and but the vets do not advise this!
Help - He needs to get medical treatments for his wounds asap!!

·
Registered
6,801 Posts
awww poor baby!
how about contacting the RSPCA and lending a cat trap? they have food in the back of them and are triggered by the cat standing in it at the back end, then the door slams down on it. They might even set it up for you..... thats the only way i could think of.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Zalensia