Cat Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hello, i'm new to this fourm. I joined because I have a problem. Please don't assume I'm a bad person. Have an open mind and understand I'm trying to do the right thing NOW.

I got this kitten for free about five years ago. I got him for my grandma, since her dog passed away and her house was empty. He was a fuzzy cute little guy, black and white with a perfect mustache. We named him Speedy.
I moved in with my grandma shortly after I got her Speedy. About a year of living in the house, (give or take) my grandma got a puppy. The puppy HATED Speedy and chased and attacked him every chance he got. Eventually Speedy stopped coming inside (doggie door) because he was terrified of the yorkie puppy. So I fed him daily on the porch and he slept on the chair with a baby blanket on it. Then I moved across state. I left him.
I came back last year, I was gone three years in total. To my surprise, Speedy was still hanging around. He looked sick, skinny, and his once beautiful soft fur was all matted up. The bone in his chest protrudes out, seemingly making it painful to walk, jump, ect. I assume he got kicked because he is now skittish of people.
Anyways, I moved back, ended up rescuing an abused pitbull and rehabilitating him. I have two dogs, and three cats in my home. (I now live with my mom) I worried about Speedy everyday when I drive by my grandmas on my way to work. She never has fed him, or shown him any affection since she abandoned him.
I went to my grandmas tonight, Speedy came running up and he was surprisingly well groomed and appeared to gain some weight. I fed him, and he rubbed against me desperatly wanting affection. He spoted another cat and ran across the street to fight it. I chased after him, picked him up and put him in my car. Now he's in my room.
The thing is though, is that what if someone took him in? He seemed happy and in much better health than last month when I saw him...