Cat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was looking for a cat forum to join and this seems to be a very active one so here i am.

my quick story; i live in southern new england and have one cat at home (19 year old orange tabby), a small (4 cats) feral colony that i take care of and one semi-feral that i am domesticating.

not really sure what else to say so...

·
Registered
4,451 Posts
Hi and welcome! You sound like you have your hands full. I wish you luck with your semi-feral. I have no experience in taming a semi-feral, but many members here do.

·
Registered
469 Posts
Welcome Whaler!

I saw on another thread that you said that you are having an allergy problem with a long haired kitty. I was talking to a friend who is a doctor who had told me that it isn't the actual hair that people are allergic, but to cat saliva. So people react to the saliva on the hair. So it technically isn't true that people can be allergic to only long hairs but not short hairs. You probably notice it more because there is more hair about the place. Which is also why someone can have a cat allergy and not a dog allergy. I know you said the cat is feral, I would too like to know what feral means to you. If she is able to be handled is there any way you can brush her to help reduce shedding. I too am allergic to cats, but I brush mine everyday and wipe them with these nourishing wipes and haven't had problems since. Well, except when Cloud drools and insists on giving sloppy wet headbutts and nose kisses, then my allergies start screaming :p

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thank you for the kind welcome! as to the question "what is a feral cat?" the definition that i use is taken from ally cat allies;