Cat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an in-person law school student in my first year (the most difficult and draining year). I got a cat because I think cats are beautiful, I connected with the particular cat I owned, I needed companionship, and I live in a small apartment (would be abusive to own a dog). For context, my cat is neutered and ~6 mo. old.

Every night, no matter what I do, at 10pm, my cat goes absolutely nuts. I try to go to bed at 9:30pm because I have to get up at 5am every morning to review cases, possibly work out, and get to class. I am also a morning person; I am way more productive at 5am than 9pm.

Every night at 9pm I play with my cat for around 20-30 minutes to wear him out. And I mean, I wear him out. I get him to pant and then keep going until he is just lazily swatting at the toys while he is laying down and panting. Then, I feed him his big meal in the hopes that he will go into a food coma. Then I pet him until he is a puddle of purring and try put him on his favorite blanket that induces kneading. I also play with him throughout the day, though not nearly as rigorously. Usually, I just throw him his ball or pens, maybe chase him a bit, or hand-wrestle with him. I even got Feliway in hopes it'll calm him?

But, 15-30 minutes later, he goes nuts again. Attacks my feet over the comforter, climbs up my shower curtain like spiderman, races around the apartment, breaks my potted plants, rips my couch into shreds. If I don't get up and play with him, this can last until 12am. No joke. If I play with him again, it only lasts like 10 minutes. But by then, it is 10:30pm. An hour after my normal bedtime. I am a stickler for schedules if you couldn't tell.

So, everyone, what do I do?! I need my cat to sleep on my schedule! Or at least just not be a demon! Help!!

·
Registered
5,523 Posts