Cat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to pregnant cats and need lots of information. Here is how it happened: A young black kitty walked up to me at my apartment complex meowing. So of course I fed her. I didn't know it was female at first. She became extremely affectionate...she would follow me around, wait for me to come home and even walk across the parking lot to greet me, rubbed her head on me, even sat on my lap a couple times. I always fed her. Eventually she was following me into the street next to the cars and I got worried for her safety. Some friends saw the picture I posted and said it looked female and a baby bump. But it got to the point that I wasn't comfortable leaving her outside...she was so affectionate I thought she may have been someone's pet. I live in a 1 bedroom apartment and I have 2 friendly cats inside.

So I put her in my bathroom. She's still super loving to me, but growling hissing and ready to fight if the others get too close, but my cats just want to sniff and play. One of them rolled over on his back in front of her.

I took her to the vet. There's no chip and she's definitely pregnant probably at least halfway. She's also quite young and this might be her first heat. She does not have any diseases, only some worms they found & treated, no fleas - she's very clean and knows how to use a litter box very well. In fact its so cute how after she's done she wipes her paws on the top edge of the box like she's cleaning them off before stepping on the floor!