Cat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I hope you're doing well!

I recently adopted a 2 yr old and 4 months old stray male cats, it's almost a month now. The older one was always shy, and used to hide in the attic, since he wouldn't socialize I've closed the attic and his behavior is much better. He's still scared but lets me pet him sometimes, and also sleeps next to me at night.

The younger was though was very affectionate initially, however, he's not anymore. Introducing them was a difficult process, but they are used to each other now, but the younger one wants to play all the time, which makes the older one very nervous and he wants to go up to the attic again. The younger one meows anytime I pick him up, he stopped sleeping next to me and just meows and comes near me when he's hungry. I am afraid my bond with him is slowly fading, and I sometimes do get angry or sad. This is my first time taking care of cats, and it's been very overwhelming. I am even thinking if rehoming the younger one will be a better option as he doesn't seem to be as active and happy as the day I got him.

Any advice?

·
Super Moderator
27,076 Posts
For the older cat, I think you should open the attic up again. It seems to be his safe place, which every cat should have, especially when they're newly adopted.

Unfortunately, the little guy is acting exactly like a kitten. They have endless energy and will run hot and cold towards you. For no reason. I think if you ignore him and don't pick him up, he'll come around. Cats do not like being ignored. I would also suggest some interactive toys he can play with on his own.

Synthetic rubber Automotive tire Rectangle Cylinder Personal protective equipment
Cat Dishware Tableware Carnivore Felidae
White Drinkware Toy Purple Liquid

Reactions: momosa42

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·