Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a total newbie to the world of kitties, I feel like I'm learning something new every time I log onto this fabulous board... and I've certainly been spending lots of time reading up on here lately. :)

There's one concern I have I'm really hoping to get some more "personalized" guidance with. My newly adopted kitten has some very strange (and frightening) behaviors when it comes to food that isn't hers.

She's fine eating her own food in her own part of the house (she has a room of her own for now, since she's only been with us for a few days)... but the minute I let her out into the rest of the house, she turns into a little monster any time there's any food being eaten by either me, my husband, or our dog.

She makes hissing sounds, pounces on the food, and scratches/bites violently if we try to take her away from it. She's done this with everything from the dog's food and treats, to my hubby's sandwich just now (she literally jumped in his plate and wouldn't surrender it).

Each time she's done this, I've picked her up (biting, clawing, hissing at me), and brought her back into her own room so that whoever's trying to eat can do so in peace). I just don't know if there's some way I can get her to stop acting this way, or if I can even somehow avoid getting injured in the process of moving her to her own room... lol!

I don't want to have to do this forever... is there some way I can get her to stop this behavior so she can become fully integrated into our family, without me having to put her away every time there's food out? My dog's being a sweetheart, totally surrenders his food to her, tail wagging and all... I feel bad for him though, don't want him to keep up with abuse from her forever!

Any thoughts would be very much appreciated. Thanks so much for this great forum! :grin:

·
Registered
804 Posts