Cat Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone... I'm new to this site, but I have to admit how impressed I am by all the information on here! And all the other people who are mildly kitty-obsessed like myself :) Maya came to me from the humane society when she was about 12 weeks old, already spayed! I love my little apartment but now it is SO much more fun coming home each day knowing she is there!

I grew up with 2 cats but my mom always took care of the food/litter issues.... so this is my first time figuring things out on my own. I've read everything I can find so far on different foods.... and right now Maya is eating Nutro Natural Choice Kitten and doing quite well.... but I have a couple questions.

1) I'm confused about carbs in dry cat food. Especially the INCREASED amount of carbs in weight-loss foods..... doesn't that sort of defeat the purpose? It seems to me that logically, more protein and fat would keep the cat fuller longer.... so why reduce fat and then increase the one thing a cat's body doesn't really need?? Dieticians have proven over and over again that reducing fat does not reduce weight in humans... is this different in cats?

2) Any recommendations for a good all-around food (kitten or adult) that has improved your cat's coat and reduced shedding? Or for any supplements? Maya's coat is thick and healthy but I've noticed some dandruff on her dark fur, and I have allergies as it is, so the healthier her skin and coat, the better for both of us!

Sorry this is so long!! But I would appreciate any info or opinions anybody has to share. Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
You've asked a mouthful, firelightsj!