Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all...I'm new to Cat Forum! My name is Lisa, and I am the proud owner of an 8-yr. old tabby, named Jack and a new furball Abyssinian/Tabby mix named Tom.

Tom was a recent adoption from a local Humane Society, and last week the day before we brought him home, the clinic called and informed me that he caught an upper respiratory infection. They wanted to tell me this, as he couldn't be neutered prior to being brought home, as he couldn't go under anesthesia.

In any event..we brought him home with Amoxil to give him 2 X's daily every 12 hrs. From the beginning, it seemed as if his URI was not as severe as I've heard or read about. There was no runny nose at all, his eyes have been very clear and he's only sneezed about 5-6 times total since Saturday.

Could it be that he has a very mild case? I would love to be able to afford Tom a bit of freedom at this point, but I don't want to get my other 8-yr. old cat sick, either.

The Humane Society recommended isolation for 7-10 days, but I just don't think Tom is that ill.

Any thoughts? We're on day #4 here of isolation!

Lisa :)

·
Registered
6,801 Posts
Day 4 is nearly half way through. It is always better to be safe than sorry. You would never forgive yourself if you lost your other cat because of this. Prevention is better (and cheaper) than the cure!

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'll give it the 7-10 days, but I'll probably go more toward 7 days, as the little kitty is doing so well. My other cat is fine with this little guy being in the other room! The Humane Society said the isolation was important for the time that Tom is on his meds. Once those are gone, we would be able to implement a gradual introduction.

Based on what I described, could this be a very mild URI? I'm grateful for that, as I've heard what a serious case can be like.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #4