Cat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
492 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last week, I went away to Arkansas to visit the Big Cat refuge I've been wanting to get an internship at for two years now.

With me, I took my resume to apply one last time for the internship that starts in August. I thought that turning it in in person might make a good impression.

Apparently, it did... Because I'm going next week to stay until the end of August!

It's a very strange situation, because the person in charge of that basically told me that the reason I hadn't been accepted and probably wouldn't be in the future is because I have an English degree, and their interns have Biology and Zoology degrees, and they use this internship to get into zoos, which I couldn't do.

But she let me work with them for a day, building enclosures and preparing the food, and I guess she was impressed enough by my willingness to work on my vacation that she kind of compromised with me.

They have an extra spot open because one intern ended up being deathly afraid of the Big Cats, so she said I could finish out the rest of the internship with the current group, who started in January.

So I'm leaving next Tuesday to live in Arkansas for almost five months. Wow.

Anyway, here are the pictures....

This is a view from outside the window in our room we stayed in on the refuge. Awesome, eating breakfast and seeing tigers outside the window :)

Cuties :)

One of the same lions, with TJ the tiger... I don't have any pictures of the three of them cuddled up together, but trust me, it was sweeeeet :)

BooBoo and Kizi... not sure which is which, but they're two of the several Bobcats they have there.

Sadie, another Bobcat, is leashed trained for educational programs, and always wears her purple harness.

Conway is AWESOME. He has the sweetest personality, always asking for attention... I can't wait til I can actually give it to him.

I don't know why Clyde was licking his bars... but he was...