Cat Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wasn't sure if this is more behavioral or health-related, so I posted it in both...

Background:

I've had my cat Indy since she was 5 weeks old. I got her from a friend who didn't know her cat was pregnant. So she's never been outdoors, not even on a patio. I am a college student so she's moved to different apartments with me three times and is good riding in the car. She's spayed and was current on all her shots when I got my next kitten.

She was my only cat until December of 2005, when I took Phoenix, a 4-week-old kitten from my job (I work at a horse center and one of our barn cats had kittens--I took her due to extrenuating circumstances as it was very cold and they were kept in a small room with only a concrete floor and a cardboard box and people that worked there were starting to leave the door open and they were getting into our Gator--I actually took her two other siblings and found them homes as well).

Anyway, so I got Phoenix when Indy was about 2.5 years old. At 6 weeks, Phoenix was tested for FeLV and FIV which was negative, and got all her shots over the next 2 months and is spayed and current on all shots. At first, Indy would hiss and didn't want much to do with her, but they finally were buddy-buddy about 4 months later, around March of this year.

At the end of July of this year, I got attached to a kitten at PetsMart who was being housed there for my local animal shelter, and consequently adopted him. He (Evo) was almost 4 months old, and was already neutered and had his first FVCRP, and I was *told* that he was tested for FeLV and was negative. But when I was going through his papers they'd given me, I saw no record of it, so I called the shelter to check and they said they had no record of him getting the Leukemia test.