Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been feeding the stray cats in my neighborhood for about 2 years now. My question is the one cat had 3 kittens and when they were old enough she brought them to the food that I put out for them and she was always a good mother to them. Now when they are all there she hisses and growls at them and will not let them get to close to her. The kittens are about 4 months old now. I have never heard of this before. I do not think she will really hurt them but I wish she would not do it at all. Could any one offer me any advice on why she is all of a sudden acting this way? Any info appreciated :D

·
Registered
86 Posts
At a guess I would say that she was making them fend for themselves. Tough love (so to speak!) Try feeding at different times and see if the juveniles appear without the mother?

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Lorna, Thanks for the advice. All of the cats come at night from dark untill early morning. I did notice that the kittens come together without the mother but sometimes they meet up and that is when she gets alittle aggressives with them. Hopefully I can try and trap the kittens and give them a good home. Thanks ! :wink:

·
Registered
6,801 Posts
yep basically tough love.
Otherwise the kittens would keep bugging her to suckle. Vienna sometimes hisses at her kittens we kept, others they are fine.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #5