Cat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure whether this is in the right section or not.

I have a question about moving with cats. I have moved short distances (10-15 miles) and taken trips to the vet. But never any long distance.

I am considering moving from Michigan to Flordia. Basically a 24 hour trip if you don't stop on the way. I have three cats to get there. Along with a turtle!!

How exactly do you move that far with a cat? Should you stop frequently or overnight? How big of a carrier should they have for a trip that long?

I need help!!!

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
I've had lots of experience moving cats; we've gone back and forth from California to Colorado (about a 22 hour trip) 7 times over the years. (You'd think I'd learn, wouldn't you! :oops: ). Actually, I have learned a lot about traveling with cats, which I'll share with you.

Plan to make one stopover at a motel. Ask for a handicap room, because these have enormous bathrooms where the cats can be let out of their carriers yet still safely confined while you rest. Food, water, and litterbox can go in there. Don't let them out in the room; the beds usually have just a little space where they can get in underneath and you'll need a forklift to get them out. There is a good website, www.petswelcome.com, that lists pet-friendly motels. They have a hard copy book, too, which I take with me so I can find a motel in wherever I find myself when I get tired.

I use one carrier per cat, a regular size; big enough so they can turn around and curl up in, but it doesn't have to be huge. I don't feed them the morning of the trip, for two reasons. One, if they get carsick, it isn't a huge mess, and two, so there's nothing coming out the other end, either. I did once put two kittens in one carrier, but they were littermates and small enough that it would work.