Cat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Lately he doesn't even drink from the tap as he used to. Maybe this is connected to the fact that he's not eating any kibble anymore, only raw diet... He's perfectly healthy, energetic and happy, just has a mommy that would like to see him drink. He drank A LOT when he had a treat of a little bacon (which showed me never to give him bacon again as it's probably full of salt).

Any tips on how to make a cat drink more?

·
Premium Member
2,855 Posts
I'm no expert, but if the cat isn't eating kibble you will notice a dramatic drop in the amount of water consumed, and that's a good sign meaning they're getting their needed water in their food. If you're really concerned you could probably add some water to the dish of food.

·
Registered
469 Posts
I agree with Carmel. I have heard that cats should get the majority of their liquids from their food. Which is definitely why kibble kitties drink so much more. If you are worried about him possibly being dehydrated take a part of his skin around the back of his neck and kind of pinch it (not meanly lol). Let go. If it goes back down quickly he is plenty hydrated. If it stays in place for a bit then he is indeed dehydrated.

·
Registered
117 Posts
I've noticed that my cat drinks considerably more when eating kibble regularly than on a predominantly canned food diet. Since (temporarily) switching her to kibble in an attempt to break her fish addiction she's started drinking from the bathroom tap for the first time.

·
Registered
4,059 Posts
Cats only drink when they're thirsty. The others are correct. You've gone from a diet that was about 8% moisture to one that's nearly 80% moisture, so your cat is no longer having to try to make up the water deficit in his kibble diet.