Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey.. I wanted to try to get some information from people who may have experienced this with their cat or knows something about it before i went to the vet because I am a college student and i cant afford the vet right now!!

It has been five days and my cat has only had 2 bowel movements. He didn't have one at all for three days. He is urinating quite frequently and I have been giving him laxatone daily for a week now. I've tried pumpkin filling but no luck with that, he hates the taste. He's lethargic and doesn't want to play. He cries to go outside all the time even though he has been an indoor cat since birth with occaisional trips outdoors. Almost two months ago I changed his diet to the Hill's prescription diet feline c/d. I still feed him some wet food, occaisionally 2-3 packs a day. (which is overdoing it i know).

He has been grooming himself reguarly, if not more than usual. I was worried this may be hairballs since he is a long haired cat, but I groom him daily 1-2 times and i lastnight i bought some treats that should eliminate hairballs. It has been a day and a half since his last bowel movement.

Another point, i just recently moved and he has a new litterbox (even though after the move i kept his old one for a couple of weeks). He uses it to urinate and his bowel movements have been in there, I just wondered if he would hold it or anything if he didn't want to use it? Please let me know if anyone has any ideas or suggestions because its going on 6 days and I'm worried to death about my baby kitty!! He is a male, approx 1.5 years old, neutered, up to date on shots.

Thanks, Ally:)
[/color][/size]

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #2