Cat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a five month old kitten. when i bought her, they told me she was a female. i named her Daisy and she has been the light of my life since april. this morning, i took her to the vet for the first time since i've had her (i know, not good, but i'm a poor college student :( ) and the vet was checking her over when she suddenly gave me a funny look.

"what sex did you say this cat was?"

confused, i answered tentatively, "female..."

the vet bit her lip and looked concerned. "actually... this cat is male."

i don't think i've ever been so surprised in my whole life. my little Daisy, the sweetest cat i've ever had, feminine in everyway, is actually a boy.

i have no idea what to do about his name. i can't keep calling him Daisy, which is obviously a girl name. my mother thinks i should call him Desi, which sounds similar, but it doesn't quite suit him. in fact, NOTHING seems to suit him! this whole situation has completely blown my mind. i feel like i have to get to know my cat all over again!

has this ever happened to anyone else?

PS a pre-response to criticisms about why i didn't know his gender in the first place... why would i think to question what they told me? i've never owned a male cat in my life, and i never really inspected the genitalia of the female ones i've had in the past. his testicles are tiny, his penis is retracted into his body. it all looked normal to me!

·
Registered
25 Posts
I can imagine how you feel.

A guy I used to go with found a stray cat that had three kittens in his garage. Two of them were light grey and one was an orange tabby. Well immediately they got names. His mother wanted to call the orange one Ginger, and he started calling one Fred. I was not allowed to have pets because of my mothers asthma and couldn't have one of my own but decided to call the other one Raincloud cause the coloring reminded me of a rain cloud.