Cat Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about switching both of my 8 month old male cats to a raw diet. I am currently feeding them 6 ounces of Wellness canned food daily. I have done a little research on raw feeding. The problem is, I am on an extremely tight budget. I am an unemployed college student and having to make a lot of sacrifices myself just to give my cats the best life possible. I am aware that making raw food is cheaper than most high quality can foods, however, I discovered that in order to prepare the raw food you'd have to grind up the liver, meat and bones using a special grinder. I cannot afford that at the moment. Preparing the food sounds easy, gathering the supplements with water, combining liver, meat and bones, however I'm still confused as to whether it's absolutely necessary that I grind it up using that machine. So my next option which is a little more inconvenient and expensive would be to purchase Nature's Variety raw food. The reason why I say it's inconvenient for me is because a 3 lb bag lasts for 5 to 6 days only and every time it finishes, I'd have to go back to the lady's house and purchase more. Like every 5 to 6 days! That's weird. It's not even a business, it's a household. I don't even know the woman. I can't come with a large amount of money to buy the food in excess so yeah. Sucks. I will ultimately get a job but right now I'm too busy (sorry for going off-topic lol). This is the website http://www.barfershoppe.com/Nature%27s% ... 0Diets.htm. I'd be getting the chicken medallions 3 lb bag. My question is, if I decide to go with the pre-made raw food, all I have to do is take out the meat, defrost it and feed a certain amount to my cats right? No other additional supplements, grinding, etc. needed?