Cat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I would like your advice on something that recently happened at an animal hospital.

I had been feeding a stray cat on and off for a few months. Last week I noticed that he was limping badly, so took him to an animal hospital. They told me about an adoption program, where they would find him a home if I paid to have him neutered, shots, etc. I paid over $250 for everything. They promised that no move would be made without contacting me first, and I never signed anything that gave them control of the cat. I was told that I could talk to the people who wanted to adopt him, and everyone had to fill out an adoption form.

He was treated for the hurt leg (he had a hole all the way through the leg), and neutered, given a bath, and treated for fleas and ear mites. I was called later that day and told that everything was fine. The next day I called them and was told the same thing, and that it would be alright to come and see him at any time. I had called at 2:00 and told them I would be by after work at 5:00.

When I got there at 5:00 they acted very strange when I asked to see him.
Another woman was called out, and she told me the cat was gone. That he had been adopted. I wanted to know why they had not been contacted me.
She told me that he was a very sick cat, with FIV/FELV, and was lucky to find any home. I was shocked to hear he had this. This was the first I had heard of this, they had always told me he was fine. They did not know the name of the person who had taken him. The person had not been required to fill out an adoption form. I was in tears, not knowing what condition he was in, or who took him.