Cat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got two new kittens on Wednesday... One male and one female... The male seems to generally be a lot nicer and less of a trouble maker. The female is always the one starting fights, beating up on the male, going where she's not suppose to, always trying to eat table food, etc... I'm trying the water spray and was wondering if this is an effective method?

Just a few minutes ago, I was playing with the male and caught the female eating a small piece of meat off my plate. I should of put it away right away but I don't want them to learn that its ok to eat table food. I just grabbed her, put her in the pet taxi for a few minutes and away from the male.

I'm new at this and don't exactly know what to do when she's bad.

Their both 8 weeks old.

Here's a pic of them... The female is on the right!

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
First, please get over the idea that she is being "bad." She is not being bad at all. She is just being a totally normal kitten.

You wouldn't expect a 2 year old child to immediately know and understand all the rules and what she can and cannot touch within 2 days. Your kittens have to learn it all, and it will take time. Patience, consistency, and more patience will be the keys. For instance, you knew you should not have left food out where she could get it, so please do not blame her! She is also not "fighting" with the other kitten, that is called play. Kittens will often play quite roughly, and it's all okay.

Squirt bottles and other "punishments" are not particularly effective with the vast majority of cats, and in most cases will make the cat fearful and skittish because the punishment will appear "random" to her. Here's more info on that subject:
http://www.littlebigcat.com/index.php?a ... tbehavior1

Cheers,
Dr. Jean

·
Registered
185 Posts