Cat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning! I am a newbie here, and have came here out of desperation.

I have had my cat, Milo, for almost 2 years. He is extremely intelligent, knows his name and other brief commands, and is very friendly, people loving, and compassionate. He has been lilke my best friend. My friends joke around with me because they say he's more like a dog.

Anyway, the other day, one of my roommates let him out of the house. He was gone for almost 24 hours. He came back, I hugged him, he peed on me, and hissed. He had a small cut on his lip. He continued to hiss at everyone in the house, and ran under my bed.

It has been 48 hours, and he is still to come out from under there. Last night I was able to pet him, and brought some food up to him under the bed, and he ate, but he won't come out to eat.

I am really nervous, and besides taking him to the vet, don't know what to do. Is this normal behavior for an indoor cat that has gone outdoors? Is he just frightened?

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
I'm so sorry that your kitty is having such a difficult time. I don't have any behavioural advice to give, but I wanted to offer my support for you during such a heart-wrenching time. I can't imagine why he's reacting this way to being outside. He must have had a rough time. If you can get him to come out of under the bed, I'd say to take him to the vet ASAP. Has he had his rabies shots?? He probably did get into a fight or two while he was out if he has a cut on his mouth. Poor little one. Good luck in nursing him back to wellness. I hope he gets better soon.

·
Registered
3,562 Posts