Cat Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.
I'm new to cat ownership. I've always had dogs and currently have 6 adopted rescue dogs. I also own a medum sized parrot with a bad attitude.
Vet tech daughter adopted two kittens born to feral mom. When she moved from her farm she had them declawed (yeah, I know). Somehow I now have 2 cats, 6 dogs, and a cranky parrot.
I need cat advice. Thanks in advance for all your advice and guidance.
Laura and Twinkie and Catmandu

·
Registered
26 Posts
Welcome! The first advice I have is (at least in my experience) is be prepared to protect your dogs. Someday soon the cats will start terrorizing them. Other than that, just love, play, make sure they get age-appropriate food & their shots on time :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
New to Cat Ownership anf Got Problem Kitty

I didn't make my intro long enough so here goes again.

I have always loved animals. Grew up with animals. Have always had dogs.
For awhile I purchased purebred show dogs (Elkhound, Danes, Std Poodle). Then adopted ex-racehorse and all my attention and money went to horseshows. Still had 2 dogs.
Rescued 5 more - 2 just a few weeks ago.
So I've got 6 indoor dogs, a 16 yr old parrot with a bad attitude. Daughter had a farm for 2 horses and 2 dogs. Vet tech at clinic, a feral mom with 8 kittens came in. All but 2 kittens got adopted so daughter brought them to farm as barn cats. She left garage opened and gave them litter box, food, water, blankets to sleep on. One cat never went too far from garage. Other cat hunted, chased squirrels. Always back at night for dinner.
Moved into apt, declawed cats to take into appt but that hasn't worked out. Garage cat, Twinkie took to inside world as if she'd always been there.
The hunter, Catmandu, seems to hate it. Won't come out from under bed, no contact, doesn't bite (so far) but seems to hate it all.