Cat Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all:

I am new to CF, i posted that I was new. Those of you who did not read, I have two cats. The older cat is Nova, a female who is 2 years old. 5 Days ago, we got a new cat who is a male, named Raisin. He is 6 months old. They are both 100% indoor cats.

Beware this is long, but i'd really really appreciate help from people with experience, so please read!! :)

My boyfriend and I kept them separate the first day, but that night made the mistake of putting them together and Nova swiped at Raisin so we separated them. We did the closed door separation, then went to the baby gate separation. Nova is quite the hunter, and she would try to hunt Raisin through the gate, by stalking and then hitting the fence, which would cause Raisin to scamper off under our bed. After a few days, we took this as Nova wanting to play and the hissing subsided. Also today I noticed for a good 15 seconds they were pawing each other through the gate in a nice way. So, my boyfriend came home and we thought we would try putting them together again. We pet them both when we took the gate down, and they were within 2 feet of each other and seemed to be okay. (this was in the bedroom where Raisin had been staying for the past 4 days) It seemed like once they migrated to the living room, Nova got upset and immediately chased Raisin into hiding. Nova's tail got VERY bushy, and the hair on her back raised. Nova stalked and tried to get Raisin out of hiding, and Raisin growled. My boyfriend put Nova in her harness and let her walk semi freely with it on just to make sure she wouldn't stalk. It seemed very aggressive that's why we did this. Raisin seemed scared and didn't want to get close to Nova. So we did this for about half and hour and Nova was stalking the entire time. Eventually we put them separate again with the baby gates up.