Cat Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am new to fostering kittens... and dealing with very young kittens.

A friend of mine visited the county shelter the other day and saw a little girl (not even 2lb) who was scheduled to be euthanized the nest day. She wanted to adopt her but because she is under 2lb she couldnt adopt, she would have to foster. Which she was more than willing to do. However - she lives outside of THAT county and so they would not allow her to. The reasoning makes sense, I guess they have had people "foster" out unaltered pets and just never hear from them again and because of jurisdiction issues the couldnt do anything about it. ANYWAYS! I am telling you all this because I DO live in the right county and so I am now fostering her and will adopt her when she is able. Of course I am doing this for my friend - I will give her to her when I am done. But I am not telling the shelter that because it may only complicate things further and I don't want to make them mad or anything. We just couldn't let her die without ever trying to save her. I will do everything I am supposed to. And when my part is done, I will hand her over. I know my friend will provide a great home so it's not a concern.

So to the real questions - the kitten was 1.9 lb when she came to the shelter on the 16th. Today, 9 days later she is only 1.5lb. Now it is obvious to me that she has/had worms. I am uncertain if they gave her dewormer. But worms are a factor. But also I believe she has a URI. She was at the clinic today so I am just not sure why they didn't send me home with meds or anything? What should I do? I fed her right when I got her home. I force fed wet food. She just looked at the food with no interest so I didn't even hesitate to make her eat. I expected I might have to.