Cat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not sure how to describe this behavior, but I would love to know why she does this.
I adopted Peaches(5yrs) 2mths ago from the shelter and so I am still learning :)
Today I had to take her to the vet and since the previous two office vistis in a cage was disastrous, I though that this time I will let her sit on the car seat besides me(On a nice comfy pillow).
She is a real quite kitty and a brave one so I was not really concerned about her freaking out.
In any case this is what happened - On the way there and back she meowed a LOT, went all about the car. Looked out of the window standing on her hind legs like a dog etc etc.. But what really puzzled me was after one meow, she left her mouth open (almost like she was snarling) for 30seconds or so.. no sound came out.. she kept her mouth open for some time till eventually a tiny meow came out.
It was a bit wierd to watch (I had to drive too).. She did this several times, maybe 6-8 times... maybe more when I could not watch her.

Can someone please explain this?
Thanks,
Summer

PS: She is under the bed now and NOT TALKING to me :)

·
Registered
917 Posts
cats have a smelling organ in the roof of their mouth. she was probably smelling stuff. there was an article somewhere about it....

·
Registered
1,499 Posts
Hmm yip, that's true about the smelling organ. But my cats do it when they are distressed, so in the car, just like your cat did. I'm not entirely sure *why* but it's completely normal. Seemed almost like panting to me.

·
Registered
3,519 Posts
I would really consider putting the cat in a carrier.
I believe cats feel more secure in cars this way.

Just my 2 cents. :D

·
Registered
366 Posts
Cats have this sensory organ in the roof of their mouth called Jacobson’s organ. I heard it once described as a combination of smelling and tasting something. When they use this, it's referred to as "phleming".