Cat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I have had some experience with cats, but none quite like my 5 month old kitten. She is adorable and one of a kind. She wakes me up in the middle of the night licking my face. :) I love her very much, and she is so spoiled!

·
Registered
2 Posts
My daughter's cat, Lola, will "talk" to us sometimes. It's too funny because it seems like you are really carrying on a conversation with her. She has also taken over being the resident bug catcher. My 18 yr old cat used to be able to do this, but now the job has fallen to the "youngun" LOL! Just tonight she ate 4 moths! Kitty toys!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Many years ago I had a black & white kitty named "Skunky" who was not weaned properly as a kitten, so he liked to suckle on people's earlobes when you were sleeping. He would wake us up sucking on our earlobes and purring.

Occasionally we would forget to warn guests of this and they would be woken up by the Skunkster! It always gave us a laugh. He was a sweet kitty, didn't mean any disrespect. He just wanted your earlobes!!!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I wondered that about my kitten, if she was weaned wrong, I got her off craigslist when she was 4 weeks? She was so small.

·
Registered
594 Posts
4 weeks is far too young to take a kitten away from her mom. The current recommendation is 12 weeks. They need the time to learn all the social skills from Mom and be properly and fully weaned.

There are cases where it can't be helped, like when mom has died or the kitten was found abandoned.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Oreo Kitten, I agree with CJinCA. 4 weeks for just about any pet is too young. It's very unfortunate, but baby pets are being shipped out younger and younger every year.