Cat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,519 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is up with the pet store employees???
I go in to purchase my cat food (various types of wet food)

So 2 of them gang up on me and tell me never to feed my cat wet food!
Since this is new to me....I dont have the right words to challenge them.
I 100% believe I am doing the correct thing....but I am not good with
up-front personal debates. Arrrrggghhhh!!!

I just wish I had the perfect thing to say to them in order to correct them!
Can you believe this was the store that sells the high-end food?
I got Wellness, Felidae, Precise, Chicken Soup and Solid Gold
wet food varieties.......(Bosco is PICKY)

I just could not believe I was buying this stuff and they are telling
me it is a 'big mistake'! :x

·
Banned
1,014 Posts
Bah... what are *their* credentials :wink: . Next time tell them to bugger off or you'll take your business elsewhere :twisted: . Pray-tell, why do they sell the food if it's so horrible in their minds? Maybe you should speak to their boss instead?

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
I hate that :x A few weeks ago, I was at Petco shopping for cat food (I was buying Pet Gold Elite wet) and I was pounced on by the Science Diet representative. She would not leave me alone!! I was like, look,lady, I'm not going to buy that food or feed it to my cats even if you GIVE it to me!! She went on and on and on :roll: Argh. She was doing it to everyone there.

·
Registered
3,102 Posts
I used to work in a petstore about seven years ago. I was taught to pitch certain foods and generally believed that I was doing the right thing. I would assume that these employees are hired with little to no knowledge of feline (and canine) nutrition. It's the training staff and/or management team that's responsible.

·
Registered
238 Posts
I can't believe they sell if thats the way they feel. Check out Dr. Jeans links that way you'll be prepared to comment if you are ever in a situation like this again.

·