Cat Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back in late 1964, my wife and I went with my College English class, by bus from UCONN, to the theater district in NYC to see "Tiny Alice", by Edward Albee. We got married in 1964, while I was still in college, because I was in ROTC, en route to a regular commission in the Army and a rapid deployment to RVN. It was a great experience for her because she was from Connecticut and I was from NY. Sure enough, I graduated on June 7, 1965, with orders to report to Armor School at Ft Knox, KY, in 3 days. Things moved fast from there!
My dad and you would have a lot to talk about :wink
He did the same thing through Purdue. It was through the Navy however. As a young guy, he was really interested in the Navy's Nuke program which was still fairly new. He spent 30 years on Nuke Subs and helped a lot with the entire program. He was even in charge of building the training sub they use in Groton, CT. I was born at Bacchus Hospital :wink

·
Registered
505 Posts
Amazing! My father worked at Electric Boat in Groton, in charge of engineering, and we lived in Waterford, CT! I was even at the christening of the Nautilus in 1955!

·
Registered
672 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Amazing! My father worked at Electric Boat in Groton, in charge of engineering, and we lived in Waterford, CT! I was even at the christening of the Nautilus in 1955!
I don't remember a whole lot during my time there, I was still pretty young. My dad just retired a second time. He worked at a Nuclear Power plant after retiring from the military.

My little brother followed suit, and joined the ROTC program at LSU. The funniest father/son follow suit story ever came from this time.