Cat Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My Bella is 12 weeks old and as a responsible pet owner I am looking into getting her spayed. I am a college student so cost is a bit of an issue. All of the really good private vets in my town are charging $50-60 dollars for an office visit plus $80 for blood work prior to the spay and another $300 the day of the spay for the surgery. None are offering payment plans. I looked into Banfield at PetSmart and admit their wellness plan is attractive, but I'm hesitant to take her their for spaying based on a number of comments I've read about them. My local SPCA will not spay her since she wasn't feral and I didn't get her from them :(

An alternative i have found that is within a reasonable distance are the Shenandoah Valley Spay and Neuter Clinic as well as the Richmond Prevent a Litter Veterinary Hospital that both offer reduced price spaying for $50. My question to everyone is have you used a similar facility for spaying/neutering and is this a good option? While I care about the cost, I also want what is medically safe and best for her. LAstly, what are your thoughts on age for spaying? Most vets are saying 4-6 months and at least 4 lbs while I know others including the SPCA are advocating earlier spaying (2 lbs and 12 weeks) for reduced recovery time. Her mom went into heat early at 4 months old. Any comments are appreciated, Thanks!

· Registered
435 Posts
Thank you for doing the responsible thing.
I would have no hesitation taking Bella to the Shenandoah Valley S&N Clinic; in fact, seems to me they would be the preferred place over a regular vet for the simple reason of volume and experience. Ditto, Richmond Prevent a Litter. Sometimes the vets who work at the low cost S&N clinics are volunteers; their day job is at the higher-priced private vets. They do it for the principle, not the money.