Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Super Moderator
26,670 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to improve my girls' teeth.

Can I give them the gizzards that I buy at the grocery store? Just rinse them off? How small should I cut them? My girls have never eaten raw, Charlee is the only one I'm worried about. That little hoover doesn't even chew.

I looked closely at Cali's teeth last night and they're great, Charlee's too. I'd like to keep them that way. Cleo's are awful, she just had 6 teeth pulled and has FORL. Can she even eat raw?

I'd like to give them the little chicken wings, but do I have to ease them into chewing on/eating bones? Again, can I give them the chicken I buy from the store?

Sorry, newb here.

·
Registered
435 Posts
I am by no means an expert (calling Auntie Crazy!), but I've been feeding raw for almost six months. So here is my 2 cents worth
I'd start out with gizzards versus chicken neck. Gizzards are very tough to chew but chicken necks are even a little tougher. If you have access to quail, cornish hen or rabbit, try the bones from these animals; they are smaller. AND, if the bones have meat on them, the cats will be more likely to eat them.
Only if I cut gizzards into small pieces will Ritz eat them; on the other hand, she chews bones from quail/cornish hen/rabbit with no problem and a lot of delight.
And, yes, you can use the gizzards you buy at the supermarket.
Ritz had gingivitus a year ago, had to have a dental cleaning when she was just two years old. Two months ago she went in for a Wellness Check, and her vet said her teeth were fine, no signs of gingivitus.

·
Registered
1,094 Posts
I give my girls chicken (or other meat) I got from grocery store. You should freeze them for at least one day, and defrost them to serve. I think this will kill most germs/bacterias.