Cat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ramona is two years old. She's currently an outside cat. Being a little more...feral than my other two cats, she's usually ornery and has a blast rolling around in the yard. In the past month and a half, I noticed some disturbing changes. Her appetite has become standstill. She barely eats or drinks. She has become incredibly skinny. She doesn't play anymore. She hides places and sleeps all the time. This past Monday, I went and bought wet cat food, baby food and canned milk to see if maybe she just needed a new diet. When I offered these things to Ramona, she barely ate them. I took her to the vet soon after. Unfortunately, I am an impoverished college student without a job currently. Having this been said, they couldn't do any diagnostics because I don't have the money. The doctor did send me home with a food stimulant pill and an antibiotic for Ramona. It has been a week, and I'm not seeing much of a change. I've fed Ramona baby food, water, and milk through a syringe. I tried giving her small amounts of cooked chicken. I'm so scared and I don't know what to do. Please give any advice or knowledge you have about this sort of thing.

·
Premium Member
18,383 Posts
Unfortunately the only thing we can tell you is to continue assist feeding her. And figure out how to get the money for the diagnostic tests she needs... I understand that circumstances sometimes change, but it's your responsibility as a pet owner to provide vet care when needed. Sell some possessions, borrow from family or friends...do what you must to come up with the funds.

As a last resort a shelter or rescue may be willing to help her out if you turn her over to them. A better option than letting her die...

·
Registered
978 Posts
You didn't say where you're from. There are groups that may assist with the vet bills.