Cat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been feeding my 12 year old cat raw for about 2-3 months. She is shedding like crazy, itching, and her poops are kinda half solid half soft/liquid. I'm going to give the menu that I feed her and I'd love for feedback on what I'm doing wrong.

Background info-
she was about 6 pounds but I think her ideal weight is 8 pounds so that's what I based the calculations on.
she's 12 years old and has been on dry food all her life before the switch
I'm giving her 200mg capsule of salmon oil squeezed out onto her dinner meal every day
I feed her twice a day (would like to do more but it's what my schedule allows right now). 7pm and 7am
all bones that I feed her come from cornish game hens

Weekly Menu-
Monday- .9oz bone, 3oz beef
Tuesday- 2oz pork, 1.5 oz chicken thigh, .5oz liver
Wednesday- .9oz bone, .5oz kidney, 2.5oz turkey
Thursday- 2oz chicken gizzards, .5oz liver, 1.5oz chicken heart
Friday- .9oz bone, 2oz beef, .5oz kidney, .5oz chicken heart
Saturday- 3oz cornish game hen, .33 oz liver, .66oz chicken heart
Sunday- .33oz kidney, 3oz chicken gizzards, .66oz chicken heart

·
Registered
709 Posts
Hey there!

Sorry to hear your baby is having problems. Hopefully my information will help sort things out.

She's relatively new to raw, how long did you wait before adding in each new protein? Did you do a slow transition?

I would stop doing the fish oils daily, and make it once a week until her stools have normalized.

I would also feed her boney meals at the same time as her organ meals.

Make sure none of your meat is enhanced (added sodium).

Until her stool is normalized, I would add in a bit more bone. You can back off slowly.