Cat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
2,156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My kittens will be weaning sometime in the near future, and starting on high quality canned food. I'd like to give raw food as an extra, and I've looked at pre-made raw diets, but they are rather expensive. I'm new to all this, so excuse my ignorance :))) - can I just go to the grocery store and pick up meat for them? What kind and how much?

·
Registered
69 Posts
while i do use some premade - keep in mind, that premade for a cat is VERY reasonable because you can get 1 lb of food for 3-4 bucks and have that last over a week. NOT much at all! alternatively, my dog eats 2 lbs a day and thats NOt reasonable.

i buy premade for some meals andi pay under $1/lb.

from the foodstore, things that can be bough:

ribs - pork, beef - my cat gnaws the meat off and loves them!
neck bones - pork and beef again - good gnawing potential.
i also just buy steaks, rump roasts, etc and cut off cubes for the cat occassionally for meaty meals.

(please note, for each of them, eating the bones is unlikely. MUCH too hard and large).

fish - whole fish. fed only occassionally. frankie adores whole fish.

poultry - cornish game hens, turkey, chicken - you name it. necks, wings, breasts, anything is possible. your limits are only what your cat will eat!

i feed some of all of these things - i dont get good lamb from the foodstore (and honestly, only some of my meat comes from there anyway). but the cat normally just eats a tiny bit of whatever the dog has :) this morning it was bone-in chicken breasts.

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Sure you can supplement with regular raw meat. I would however mix some calcium in the meat if you server more than 50 grams a day.
If you find chicken necks, get them. The cats love them!

·
Registered
69 Posts