Cat Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
476 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm new to the world of raw, and picked up some lovely organ meats yesterday. with just 2 kitties and feeding raw part time, 1.5 lbs of liver and kidney is gonna last me a while so i was thinking about ways to portion out the meat.

last night i made a mix of chopped up liver and kidney and portioned them out into ice cube trays, hoping to pop them out and place them in a baggie so i could just pull out the right amount when convenient.

however, this morning i found that the meat is stuck to the tray. maybe i need to freeze it longer? maybe i need to run some water on the other side?

any tips on how to use ice cube trays without sticking problems? or possibly other portioning tips?

thanks!

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Can I ask a stupid question? I will assume you said yes :)

Why are you chopping the organs up? Organ meats are soft and the cats can eat them with no problems. I would just ration them out into pieces of how many ounces you want each cat to eat and freeze them in ziplocs. Whenever you want to feed them, then you just defrost in the bag by either keeping it in the fridge or soaking them in warm water. It just seems much easier.

·
Registered
476 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for pointing that out to me dweamgoil! lol i realized that as i was chopping them up but the thought didnt click...the kittens have just started raw and i was getting used to cutting up meat and heart for them in small pieces cause they are still working on their jaw strength, but the organ meats are much softer. glad to know i wont have to be chopping up these yucky organ meats in the future hehe.

i was considering the ziplocs but im trying to find ways to cut waste and space. i was thinking if i could just freeze chunks and put them all in one ziploc it would take up less space and take less bags.

·
Registered
1,168 Posts