Cat Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not new to cats, but I am new to owning multiple cats. We have a 4-5 year old orange Tabby, named Ozzie(or as I call him, Buzz) who has been with us for 3 years(got him at a shelter). He is very very cuddly, constantly wants to be on your lap, cuddling with you, and will go up to anyone and everyone and be friendly towards them. Has only bitten me once because I scared him a little(on accident) otherwise he is the nicest cat I have ever seen.

A week ago we brought in a playmate as Buzz always seems very sad when my wife leaves for work for the day. We figured with his friendly nature he'd probably be more accustomed to having a friend around to play with during the day. Well I know that introducing cats isn't an overnight process and I don't expect it to be, but from what we are seeing so far, Buzz is afraid of this new kitten(who is 3.5 months old). He will hiss at her, she will hiss at him, then growl, and he will up and leave, sometimes running away. He has had free roam of the house for 3 years now and I don't want him to get pushed around and make him feel uncomfortable in his own home. Basically my question is, is this normal? Will Buzz eventually take back his territory? Will he be depressed, sad, or act different if the new kitty "takes over" his territory? Is it his trusting and friendly nature that allows the new kitty to push him around?

My wife is very concerned as she doesn't want Buzz to change or be uncomfortable in his own home as he's had a pretty good life so far and she doesn't want things to change. I just want to know if anyone has seen or experienced this and how it ended up? Again I know it might take awhile, but I don't want to ruin what Buzz has in his free roam and happiness.

Hope this all makes sense, if it doesn't feel free to ask questions and I will answer them as best I can.

·
Super Moderator
26,360 Posts