Cat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for a good dry food for my cat and, after mining the web, this Science Diet looks to be about the best. What do you think? He's now 4 years old, male, and very active (especially at night -Tee-Hee!) Anyway, I'm currently giving him
canned Friskies Fancy Feast (3 flavors) and Purina One Salmon & Tuna flavor. I'd like to give him some variety. Is beef good or is chicken and liver, better? And, what about these "natural" and "holistic" products that I've been reading so much about, lately? Are they better for your cat? I've read where, for males, you want to keep the Mg levels at or below 0.09%. Is this true? He eats his food with no complaints, at least, I don't think he's unsatisfied with his fare but I'm not sure. I'm still learning to speak, "meowish." He'll eat just about anything, even tacos! -kwazy cat. Also, it worries me that he doesn't seem to drink very much water. Is this a problem I should be concerned about? And, oh, yes, I crush liver-flavored vitamins and add it to the dry food which he takes with no problems. Any thoughts? Your suggestions would be most appreciated. Thank you and...
Meow,
Commie

·
Registered
282 Posts
I think you will find the people here pretty anti-Science Diet. For what you pay, the quality just isn't there. I mean, the first ingredient is Poultry By-Product Meal. Comparably priced brands are usually by-product free.

I can't comment on the Mg levels, as my babies are girls. Personally, I don't feed my cats anything with by-products (I don't eat them myself, why should they?) but I don't spring for the organic corn-free stuff either. You just have to figure out your personal comfort level. I try to feed my pets the same quality I feed myself.