Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,811 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My current digital camera is big and bulky - it's okay, but now it has a problem that would cost more to fix than it is worth to me. What do you all use and/or reccomend. I want something with a few options beyond the standard point and click - I like photography but would certainly not call myself "advanced", still I am a little beyond beginner. Also, it needs to have at least 3X optical zoom - don't care a hoot about digital zoom.

Please post your experience, including likes/dislikes, mega pixels, battery drainage, etc. Also, post where you got it and relative price ... :lol: Hope I'm not asking too much, but I'd like an honest opinion from real users.

Thanks!

·
Registered
637 Posts
I have a Nikon Coolpix 5700, the same one as Petra but I don't take as good of shots as she does. It does horribe indoor shots (low lighting is not its strong suit)...zooms in and out wasting battery life so I would not recommend my camera. I used to have a smaller one and it took forever for the shutter to capture the picture and I went to Alaska with my husband and of course missed all the whales coming up out of the water because the stupid camera was so bleeping slow.

So, to me the number one thing of course is speed in capturing the photo, battery life, and photo quality INDOOR and out. My 5700 takes beautiful outdoor photos but of course I'm not always outside taking photos. My current SLR is an EOS Rebel (don't use at all now because of my digital though) so if I were to look into another digital camera I would probably look into getting an EOS digital. My EOS is very user friendly.

Here's a cool website that I've saved in my favorites and I'm sure you'll appreciate! :wink:

Click on either the camera, car or pda icon on the right and it will advise you of the best choices for your preferences.
:arrow: http://www.myproductadvisor.com/mpa/home.do

·
Registered
2,811 Posts