Cat Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
28,623 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wow, what a horse Barbaro is! The commentators said we might be looking at one of the "great ones." The odds were 6-1. There didn't seem to be a runaway favorite, but Barbaro left the leaders and the pack in the dust. That was an exciting race. :) I'm no expert, but I wouldn't miss the Triple Crown! I hope there's a Triple Crown winner this year. :)

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Every year, they say that we might be looking at a great one. :D Keeps people coming back for the Preakness and Belmont. Barbaro was game, but he also came off a five-week rest. Only time will tell if he's anything like those who came before.

·
Premium Member
28,623 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I do too, and I get tears when I hear "My Old Kentucky Home." Stephen C. Foster, the composer, is from Pittsburgh. He also wrote "I Dream of Jeanie With the Dark Brown Hair." For me? He must have seen into the future; he spelled Jeanie correctly! :D

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
We who actually live in Kentucky refer to Churchill Downs just as, "the track".....and look at the Kentucky Derby as a waste of what could have been a perfectly good saturday at the track playing the ponies :evil:

·
Registered
1,355 Posts
Jeanie said:
Oh, Mike. Don't burst my bubble! :cry: You have to have a bit of romance in your soul. :)
:oops: It was meant as a joke, not a very good one I guess...

The Kentucky derby festival is the biggest party we have here all year round. So many people see the Kentucky Derby as "the most exciting 2 minutes in sports".....well, yeah....it is :D But we party for a MONTH to get to the horse race. You really needta come'on down sometime, its a genuine blast. We have parades, and beer wagons, and beauty contests, and beer wagons, and air shows, and beer wagons, and fireworks, and beer wagons......and we finally have a horse race :D

...and beer wagons!!

·
Premium Member
28,623 Posts
Discussion Starter #8