Cat Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
some of u guys may remember me wondering whether Tober is a maine coon or not.
I think he is but i aint no expert so maybe one of u can tell me by looking at these pics of his ultra bushy tail! :p (finally got some :) )

hes fairly big as far as cats go and has v long ear hair and whiskas.
and black/brown turtle shell markings with white belly.
medium length coat.

:?

·
Registered
220 Posts
It is difficult to tell if a cat is part maine coon. All I have to say is that MC cats are extra large. I had a MC cat nearly 30 years ago. He was an extra-large tabby, that someone had dumped in my neighborhood. While a standard DSH full grown male cat may weigh up to about 15 lbs, a MC can top the scales at about 20 lbs, and sometimes heavier. You could punch in "Maine Coon cat" on any search engine and read about that breed of cat plus, look at the many pictures.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Im no expert either, so i couldnt tell you if your cat is MC. Im wondering if my cat may also be part maine coon. Here is a picture of her.

I did a search on them, and my cat sounds so much like them. It said that maine coon cats are very friendly, big, dont acheive their full size until they are about 3 to 5 years old. That they remain kitten like for most of their lives. They are relaxed and easy going, they like people. It also said that many of them are not lap cats. From pictures i have seen of mc cats, your cat does look very much like one.

·
Registered
220 Posts