Cat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
My life has not been going in a direction I am happy with, I've not worked in 2 years, I've been a student and now that I have my degree, i feel like I did two years ago.

I am moving out of my current place on the 4th of April into a barn. Its a nice barn mind you but it still a barn, it just has a condo attached to it.

Rent is free at this place as my mother and brother will be in the house. However, I am not thrilled to be moving back home. However, I never wanted to settle down where I currently am either, only came here for school

I have a chance to go to Hawaii, get setup for a few mths and try and find work. The ONLY thing stopping me from going at this point is my cat.

Mom will take great care of him until I either A. Fail in Hawaii or B. Succeed and can have him shipped.

I am struggling internally about leaving my cat at my moms. Yes he gets to go outside again, all summer long outside on the farm my cat will be immensely happy - I know this, but being away from him I fear will pain me.

Now, all my friends my brother my mom they think im nuts because I'm so attached. Nobody thinks I can stay away from him more then a month.

Its obvious that I have a very unhealthy attachment to my pet and am possibly sacrificing a life in Hawaii due to that choice if i cant bring myself to go.

I'm just looking for some help here, some thoughts and words of encouragement from other cat owners.

My intention is not to Abandon my cat, just try and get established in Hawaii and ship him over when I am.

Oh and the whole getting tired aspect of this post is simply that, I'm so tired on my reliance on my cat. I love him so much but I'm reliant on him to stay positive and going in life... and in a way I'm just tired of being so emotionally dependent on my cat.

·
Registered
2,677 Posts
See my post "I love the girls but "