Cat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I should preface with the info that I am a former Special Ed teacher and a mother of teenage boys. I've spent the last 20 years of my life tricking children into doing what is good for them.

Enter the cats.

After reading all of the concerns regarding wet v. dry, canned v. fresh, I finally settled on a split that could work for both me and the hubby - and of course the cats. I've been blessed with a pair that will eat anything (even the dog food if it's not taken away) so a typical dry for them is one feeding of canned and one of dry (wellness core). After reading so much about fluids and cats I was quite worried about the dry feeding so I started adding water to the canned and lo and behold but our cats like cat food soup. This is the same concept that has had me hiding vegetables in my kids food since, well forever (no honey there are not peas and tofu in your meatloaf :wink

Any of the canned foods mixed almost 50/50 with water and they will go to town. As a matter of fact if my son puts out just some canned that was in the fridge they turn up their noses a bit - they don't like cold, but add some hot tap water and they are pleased.

So the question is - is it possible to encourage a house cat to drink too much? They do pee a lot, certainly much more than any of the cats we had when I was young who ate kibble and mice, is there a formula some where for appropriate urine output? I'd hate to find that I'm doing something bad for them in an effort to 'trick' them into doing something good....
Many Thanks

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the feedback FF251 - Yea, the dry is not the best I know - but I'm not always there to do the feeding so it is a convenience food evil - sort of like when the hubby feeds the human kids Mickey D's for dinner when mom isn't home.