Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I feel like such an idiot! Misty is on Clavamox twice daily (will finish Sun.) for a kidney infection and just started methimazole liquid (2.50 mg once daily) on Monday for hyperthyroidism.

I have been so stressed out, as I have been battling a health condition myself for the past 2 years, that I accidently gave her two doses of methimazole liquid yesterday. I didn't even realize it until the middle of the night. I woke up and it just hit me! Misty seems fine, but I was just supposed to give AM dose only. I plan to skip the AM dose today. Should I give her a PM dose today and keep her on the PM schedule or just re-start methimazole tomorrow? It is imossible to give 1.25 mg twice daily with liquid. I did ask to try pills...vet said she usually gives liquid to cats, but will get a few so I can try.

Vet is only keeping her on the 2.5 mg dosage for 2 weeks before re-testing and then ramping up. I think she will be getting 2.5 mg twice daily then.

If I skip today altogether, will it affect T4 test given in 2 weeks from the initial start date?

I am so grateful for all the help here. I feel totally lost, depressed, and losing all hope.

·
Registered
4,059 Posts
Jen,

Relax. Misty will be just fine. One additional 2.5 mg dose isn't going to do any harm. Go ahead and give her another dose this morning (don't skip a day and don't switch her to nightime dosing if you're only dosing her once daily). This is NOT a big deal. Really, it's not.

As far as pills are concerned, any pharmacy should have the methimazole you need. Just ask your vet to call in a prescription to the pharmacy of your choice. No need to wait for your vet to order pills for her own clinic.

Take a deep breath, eat a piece of dark chocolate, and repeat after me ...

no biggie ... no biggie ... no biggie ...

Laurie

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, Laurie.