Cat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My parents have a nice quiet park area/neighbohood and my bf suggested I take the kitties outside on a leash. Here are some questions if anyone can help me out....

1) I think I should get flea medication but what brand is good? (I've never used it before on cats)

2) Are they going to want to dash out the door or break down my window screen to get to the grass when inside? (They don't even think about doing this now)

3) What is the best shaped harness?

4) Do they have cat harnesses or do I have to get a small dog one?

5) Do you guys walk 2 cats at a time or 1 at a time? ( I have 2 cats and I know they cry when they can't see the other cat)

This is it for now, any help would be appreciated. I would love to take them on a walk today or tomorrow if all goes well. :D

·
Registered
656 Posts
:D for some reason the thought of walking cats on leashes is so funny to me. I just can imagine how my cats would react....they would not like it at all I am sure. I have heard of people doing this before though, and it is a very safe way to let your cats get some sunshine.

Please never use any over the counter flea medication, it is very dangerous. You can get flea medication from your vet without a perscription or appointment. All you have to do is call or stop by the vet office. My vet uses frontline although I have heard advantage works just as well. As long as it isnt over the counter from a drug store or like walmart you will be ok. (check link in my signature about hartz, it is deadly!)

·
Registered
1,694 Posts
Some cats won't walk in a harness...My Kitty acts like her legs are made of rubber when the harness is on. Sometimes I take her outside, in harness, with a leash, I'll lay her on the grass. She doesn't move except to maybe push a bit with her back legs. So, walking her, really isn't possible.