Cat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there! I'm new on the forum. My name's Melissa and I'm the minion of 7 kitties - all rescue cases who were either abandoned, sick, etc. They're hale and hearty now, thankfully! I'm also a kitty caregiver to a number of stray cats in my neighbourhood.

Hope to meet likeminded folks here, especially those into raw feeding!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks :) I'm still learning though - it's been less than a year with the 7 furkids on raw, and at times, they stage li'l protests by refusing to eat! I'm using a pre-mix called Better in the Raw at the moment, but am hoping to transition them to frankenprey style feeding. (I'm only hesitant because the few times I'd tried offering wee bones to them, they've been resistant...)

·
Registered
201 Posts
Well, you're further along than me then. I've been at it for about 2 months and my guys do the hunger strike thing too. I was kind of hoping it got better eventually... you're not encouraging me here. ^_~

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Don't fret too much about it, Penguin_Dreams! Cats are picky eaters by nature, and the sporadic hunger strikes never last over a day or so. So don't be disheartened if your kitties get bratty like mine do - often!

·
Registered
201 Posts
I switch it up a bit and that seems to keep them interested. I'm feeling optimistic tonight because I just picked up something entirely new that my store hadn't carried before and they love it! At least for the next day or two. They're so finicky!

I'm reluctant to let them go more than 12 hours without food though, especially with my girl who really needs to put on some weight anyway. I don't worry about the boy so much until it starts getting close to the danger zone, but he likes to eat and by then I have to give him whatever the girl is getting or I'd have a cat mutiny on my hands.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7