Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

In a few weeks, I'll be picking up my two Bengal kittens (12 weeks old) and they're currently on canned food/kibble.

Eventually during the summer (I'm a teacher and I have it off) I'd like to perhaps consider transitioning them to a raw diet.

I did look at Haretoday.com and saw they have some great ground chicken (bones, organs, etc.) but I see they're on the west coast so I'm thinking about shipping and making sure the food is fresh, etc.

I'm wondering if anybody has any sources on the West Coast (I live in CA) for good raw meat and/or supplements.

Also, on the topic of supplements, does anybody have anything to say about Alnutrin to add to the ground meat?

Thanks for any advice. :)

·
Registered
243 Posts
Are we talking about commercial raw or just raw meat?

If you are talking about commercial raw, then there are actually a few west coast manufacturers:
1) Rad Cats based in Portland, OR
2) Natural Pet Pantry in Seattle, WA
3) Darwin's in Seattle, WA
4) Raw Advantage in Stenwood, WA

Some manufacturers are in the East Coast but available in stores or by reseller:
1) Feline's Pride
2) Primal

If you are talking about raw meat so you can make your own pet food, check out the co-ops in yahoo group.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for that, Dweam!

Now I need some clarification... what's the difference between something like that site and my getting ground meat from a butcher?

(Not a sarcastic question, I'm learning. :) )

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
Not too much in reality, however, some butchers will not sell ground mixes with bones and organs since they cater mostly to people, and even if they do, I can't see them grinding up the entire animal (brains, unbleached tripe, lungs, stomach, etc.). It just depends on what your local butchers have to offer.