Cat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is what I would call a gray tabby, but she has red and brown mixed in with her. She and her littermate are this same color (but the littermate doesn't have as red of ears) and when you stand their fur up, where the tabby stripes are it's red.

Their mom is a red classic tabby and their sire is pretty much this same color. There were five kittens in the litter: 3 like this and then 2 red/cream tabbies. One of the gray ones died when it was 3 days old, though.

·
Registered
979 Posts
I would call that a brown tabby, but I'm no expert. The ruddier parts of Io look like that (she's torbie), but her stripes are markedly more orange then on the redder parts of your little girl.

·
Registered
1,094 Posts
She looks like a black tortieshell tabby (also called torbie) to me. I think it's also called patched tabby in some countries.

·
Registered
5,471 Posts
Her color is a little difficult to determine at this stage, but I say she's a brown mackeral patched tabby, or brown mackeral torbie. Mackeral=stripes like the mackeral fish. In the third pic, the striping on her shoulder and front legs look more silverish, so she could turn out to be a silver mackeral patched tabby or torbie. Brown tabbies are sometimes difficult to classify as the brown is a warm brown tone but grayish. A cutie-pie for sure!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the replies, guys! And Apple is pretty cute ;)

I was reading up on red genetics and it said red females are rare/uncommon since red is a sex-link trait, and a red female must have the red gene on both of her Xs (as opposed to a red male who just needs it on just one X), which means she has to have two red parents.