Cat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted on another pet forum but got no replies, so here this goes:

This are not our cats. We saw them a while back when we visited a relative; apparently they were the neighbours but weren't really looked after/cared for.

Anyway, I'd never seen a cat this colour! I know black can turn rusty/reddish in the sun, but having lived in a much sunnier country for years, I'd still never encountered anything quite like these little cats. They were striking!

Anyone got a clue as to what they are?

·
Premium Member
7,857 Posts
Just beautiful. Another poster referred to this a Chocolate or Choco kitty (do a search for that thread). I think that may be the color.

·
Premium Member
2,535 Posts
I would say chocolate and white or cinnamon and white, although I'm no expert. Certainly beautiful, though.

Here are a couple resources:

http://sheltermedicine.vetmed.ufl.edu/files/2011/11/identification-and-coat-colors-patterns.pdf

Cat Coat Color Chart | Earth Pets of Gainesville

If you look on the top left of the second chart (you'll probably need to zoom in a little), you can see how as black pigmentation decreases, it becomes the brownish colors. This is why some black cats can appear red in the sun.

TICA has some excellent information regarding genetics and coloring. But since the parents weren't known in this case, I didn't include those.

·
Premium Member
2,535 Posts
Stunning...could this be considered a calico?
Interesting. Calico cats are tri-colored with (usually) white, black and red. Or white, blue, and cream, if dilute.

I suppose one could make a case for the brown and red being different colors, thereby having a white, brown, and red calico? Doesn't seem likely to me but I'm no expert.

Eventually one of the CFA/TICA folks will happen along this thread and answer the question.

·
Premium Member
2,855 Posts