Cat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can raw include:

-Cuts of meat from the meat department of a grocery store?

-The big chicken breast in my freezer

-Something freshly killed?

I'm a complete newbie to this-I'm still debating whether to try my kittoh out on raw diet!

Robin is still on canned. ^_^ With an emegency supply of kibble.

·
Registered
750 Posts
If it were something like freshly killed elk or deer, I'd freeze it for 3-4 weeks before feeding it. Other than that, I think all of what you posted qualifies!

Just makes sure that none of the meat is enhanced with anything - and that the sodium level is below 80-100mg per serving and you should be good to go.

BTW, since some people don't realize this, raw literally means raw. Not cooked meat, but meat that is 100% raw. That seems to be one of the things that people get most confused about when it comes to raw feeding - at least on some of the groups I am in!

Feeding raw, if you do some research about it, is one of the best choices you can make for any cat IMO:D

·
Registered
8 Posts
If you were to go raw I would either go to a natural foods pet store that may supply raw cat/dog foods, or get your meat from an actual local meat market/food market. I would also suggest local grown/all natural/ and or organic. Most meats you buy at the commercial grocery store were raised eating corn and given drugs and have preservatives. Also, the chickens you buy at commercial grocery stores are pre soaked in salt water.

When starting raw foods, some companies recommend feeding it 2-3 times a week, and by mixing it with canned food first so they can slowly get used to it.

·
Registered
435 Posts
If you can afford local grown/all natural/organic, that is good. I can't, and don't worry about it. I buy raw food from my local grocery store, sometimes reduced in price because it's at its "sell by" date. Ritz doesn't know the difference.