Cat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

As I'm sure many of you have read, I am in the beginning stages of transitioning ET to a raw diet. I am new to the city in which I live and I am taking ET to a vet on Monday for the first time since I adopted him (he was seen previously at the SPCA where I got him, of course) for a well visit. I of course want to be forthcoming about ETs diet but I am apprehensive as to what the vet will think. I pretty much had to select a vet without any personal recommendations, although the testimonials/reviews I read online seemed positive (she also is a cat-only vet).

So I guess my question is, how has your veterinarian handled your decision to feed raw? Were they supportive, in different, or totally horrified? What suggestions do you have for initiating these conversations? I hope I won't feel like I need to DEFEND my decision to feed raw, or be talked out of it!

Thanks in advance :)

-BP

Edited to add that ET is doing GREAT with the transition... still on just chicken (feeding 2 meals dry/wet, spaced 8 hrs apart from the middle raw meal) but has had 3 raw meals in the last 3 days!

·
Super Moderator
26,540 Posts
I have very progressive vets where I go. They offer behavior consultation, acupuncture, traditional chinese medicine, and homeopathic remedies, so I'm pretty sure they're up to speed on raw, but I've never asked about it.

·
Registered
4,059 Posts
My vets aren't supportive of raw, though only one of them actively tries to talk me out of it. The other occasionally offers me cautions associated with raw feeding, but he knows I've done my homework, so he doesn't fuss about it.

Laurie

·
Banned
952 Posts
Unfortunately, the vet I most trust my cats to is not up to speed on the risks/benefits of raw feeding. Heck, he still sells Science Diet. *sigh*