Cat Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I haven't posted here for awhile, so I am hoping I still remember how to post photos.

I am listing my foster kittens on Petfinder, but I am not sure what to list them as.

What do you call this color?

I think this one is a Seal Point?

·
Registered
8,961 Posts
Wow, I'm not sure but that kitten in the bottom picture is GORGEOUS. I'd scoop him/her up in a heartbeat.

·
Registered
98 Posts
The top picture looks like maybe a Blue Cream Point? And the bottom picture would be a Blue Point since the colors are diluted. Seal Point is much darker :)

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Oh my goodness they are gorgeous! If I didn't have a 2-cat limit I'd be tempted to take them off your hands, ;)

Pointed cats are tricky because their colors darken as they age. I am not really an expert on them, and I think we have a siamese breeder on here who'd know better, but the second one to me looks like seal or blue? I am leaning towards blue because the colors are more blue-grey, while seal is more brown-tinted.

The first one looks like a tortie-point, or maybe a tortie-lynx point, in blue I think?

·
Registered
56 Posts
Aww, adoooorable!!!

They are both "pointed cats." The first is a "blue cream tortie point." Or a "diluted tortie point." Same thing, different names. Genetically, she's a tortoiseshell, a black and orange cat (black and orange genes are on the X chromosomes; she has two X chromosomes as a female, one black, one orange, both are expressed). The black and orange is "diluted" by another gene which turns the black into the blueish grey and the orange into cream. The pointed gene restricts the color to the points. So a blue cream tortie point :)