Cat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, what's the best tool for trimming the hair around my cat's bottom? Her hair has become extremely long and thick since she was spayed and its getting wee'd on. So I think it would help her to keep it clean if I trim her hair but I've never done this before.

·
Registered
3,199 Posts
I use kiddy scissors (the ones with blunted ends), or the special grooming scissors I bought. The grooming scissors are curved, and have the tips blunted so they're very safe. Kiddie scissors work well too though.

·
Registered
2,890 Posts
Just a suggestion, since I've never done it myself, either (I've got 2 DSH). First time, go to the groomers and get it professionally done, maybe get kitty's claws trimmed, too, while you're there. Then do the up keep yourself, after getting the proper tools, of course. That way, it's easier to simply keep it trimmed and know what parts you need to maintain. You can also ask the groomers for tips on scissors, comb, or small hints to make the process easier for you and your kitty. That's what I'd do, but you're free to do the first time yourself if you're confident. Good luck!

·
Premium Member
7,862 Posts
My groomer does it on a walk in basis for only a few dollars. Complete nail trim and sani-trim is about $10 or so. I know Petsmart will do these on a walk in also.

·
Registered
5,173 Posts
When I had longhair cats, I used blunt-nose mustache scissors to trim around the anus, and also trim back the breeches a bit if they were getting soiled. It worked well for me. The only cats I couldn't trim were my longhair show Manx. It's against the show rules to do any sort of trimming at all.

·
Registered
91 Posts